All-time UFC lightweight champions

After a pedestrian start to his UFC career, Charles Oliveira reached the sport's pinnacle Saturday by claiming the lightweight title. Carmen Mandato/Getty Images

The champions are listed in reverse chronological order.

All-time champions by division:
Heavyweight | Light heavyweight
Middleweight | Welterweight
Lightweight | Men's featherweight
Men's bantamweight | Men's flyweight
Women's featherweight
Women's bantamweight
Women's flyweight

Current champion

Charles Oliveira
Won title: May 15, 2021
Outcome: TKO2 over Michael Chandler (UFC 262)
Defenses: 0

Past champions

Khabib Nurmagomedov
Won title: April 7, 2018
Outcome: UD over Al Iaquinta (UFC 223)
Defenses: 3

Conor McGregor
Won title: Nov. 12, 2016
Outcome: KO2 over Eddie Alvarez (UFC 205)
Defenses: 0*

* -- Stripped of the title on April 7, 2018, for inactivity

Eddie Alvarez
Won title: July 7, 2016
Outcome: TKO1 over Rafael dos Anjos (UFC Fight Night)
Defenses: 0

Rafael dos Anjos
Won title: March 14, 2015
Outcome: UD5 over Anthony Pettis (UFC 185)
Defenses: 1

Anthony Pettis
Won title: Aug. 31, 2013
Outcome: SUB1 over Benson Henderson (UFC 164)
Defenses: 1

Benson Henderson
Won title: Feb. 26, 2012
Outcome: UD5 over Frankie Edgar (UFC 144)
Defenses: 3

Frankie Edgar
Won title: April 10, 2010
Outcome: UD5 over BJ Penn (UFC 112)
Defenses: 3

BJ Penn
Won title: Jan. 19, 2008
Outcome: SUB2 over Joe Stevenson (UFC 80)
Defenses: 3

Sean Sherk*
Won title: Oct. 14, 2006
Outcome: UD5 over Kenny Florian (UFC 64)
Defenses: 1

* -- Stripped of title after testing positive for an anabolic steroid

Jens Pulver
Won title: Feb. 23, 2001
Outcome: UD5 over Caol Uno (UFC 30)
Defenses: 2