Current and all-time UFC champions

Stipe Miocic defeated Daniel Cormier by fourth-round TKO to reclaim his heavyweight belt at UFC 241. Josh Hedges/Zuffa LLC/Zuffa LLC via Getty Images

The UFC began in 1993 with fighters of all sizes competing against each other. Four years later, UFC 12 introduced weight classes: heavyweight, for fighters 200 pounds and above, and lightweight, for those 199 pounds and under. That night in Dothan, Alabama, Mark Coleman needed less than three minutes to defeat Dan Severn by a neck crank to becomes the promotion's first heavyweight champion -- its first champion, period.

Today, there 12 weight divisions in the UFC -- eight for men, four for women. Below are the current UFC champions in each weight division.

Click here for the current champions in all of the major fight promotions: Bellator MMA, ONE Championship, PFL, Rizin and Invicta FC, in addition to the UFC.

All-time UFC champions by division:
Heavyweight | Light heavyweight
Middleweight | Welterweight
Lightweight | Men's featherweight
Men's bantamweight | Men's flyweight
Women's featherweight
Women's bantamweight
Women's flyweight

Heavyweight (Up to 265 pounds)

Stipe Miocic
Won title: August 18, 2018
Outcome: TKO4 over Daniel Cormier (UFC 241)
Defenses: 0

Light heavyweight (205)

Jon Jones
Won title: Dec. 29, 2018
Outcome: TKO3 over Alexander Gustafsson (UFC 232)
Defenses: 2

Middleweight (185)

Israel Adesanya
Won title: Oct. 6, 2019
Outcome: TKO2 over Robert Whittaker (UFC 243)
Defenses: 0

Welterweight (170)

Kamaru Usman
Won title: March 2, 2019
Outcome: UD over Tyron Woodley (UFC 235)
Defenses: 0

Lightweight (155)

Khabib Nurmagomedov
Won title: April 7, 2018
Outcome: UD over Al Iaquinta (UFC 223)
Defenses: 2

Men's featherweight (145)

Max Holloway
Won title: June 3, 2017
Outcome: TKO3 over Jose Aldo (UFC 212)
Defenses: 3

Men's bantamweight (135)

Henry Cejudo
Won title: June 8, 2019
Outcome: TKO3 over Marlon Moraes (UFC 238)
Defenses: 0

Men's flyweight (125)

Henry Cejudo
Won title: Aug. 4, 2018
Outcome: SD over Demetrious Johnson (UFC 227)
Defenses: 1

Women's featherweight (145)

Amanda Nunes
Won title: Dec. 29, 2018
Outcome: TKO1 over Cris Cyborg (UFC 232)
Defenses: 0

Women's bantamweight (135)

Amanda Nunes
Won title: July 9, 2016
Outcome: SUB1 over Miesha Tate (UFC 200)
Defenses: 4

Women's flyweight (125)

Valentina Shevchenko
Won title: Dec. 8, 2018
Outcome: UD over Joanna Jedrzejczyk (UFC 231)
Defenses: 2

Strawweight (115)

Zhang Weili
Won title: Aug. 31, 2019
Outcome: TKO1 over Jessica Andrade (UFC Shenzhen)
Defenses: 0