2021 WNBA Finals - Schedule, news and latest updates on Phoenix Mercury, Chicago Sky

play
Candace Parker emotional as Sky win first WNBA title (0:48)

The Chicago Sky hold on in Game 4 to win their first WNBA championship, and Candace Parker is overcome with emotion. (0:48)

The Chicago Sky are WNBA champions.

The Sky beat the Phoenix Mercury 80-74 in Game 4 of the 2021 WNBA Finals to win the first title in franchise history.

Chicago trailed by 11 points in the fourth quarter before rallying for the win. The Sky are the first team in WNBA history to win after facing a double-digit deficit in the fourth quarter of a Finals game, per the Elias Sports Bureau.

Two hometown heroes led the way. Candace Parker, who grew up in suburban Naperville, Illinois, had 16 points, 13 rebounds and five assists, and DePaul grad Allie Quigley of nearby Joliet, Illinois, led the Sky 26 points, making five 3-pointers.

Kahleah Copper, who had 10 points, was named WNBA Finals MVP. Point guard Courtney Vandersloot added 10 points and 15 assists for the Sky, who won the series 3-1.

WNBA Finals coverage

WNBA Finals (best-of-five)

Sunday, Oct. 10
Game 1: Chicago 91, Phoenix, 77

Wednesday, Oct. 13
Game 2: Phoenix 91, Chicago 86 (OT)

Friday, Oct. 15
Game 3: Chicago 86, Phoenix 50

Sunday, Oct. 17
Game 4: Chicago 80, Phoenix 74

Semifinals (best-of-five)
Tuesday, Sept. 28
Game 1: Chicago Sky 101, Connecticut Sun 95 (2OT)
Game 1: Las Vegas 96, Phoenix Mercury 90

Thursday, Sept. 30
Game 2: Connecticut Sun 79, Chicago Sky 68
Game 2: Phoenix Mercury 117, Las Vegas Aces 91

Sunday, Oct. 3
Game 3: Chicago Sky 86, Connecticut Sun 83
Game 3: Phoenix Mercury 87, Las Vegas Aces 60

Wednesday, Oct 6
Game 4: Chicago Sky 79, Connecticut Sun 69
Game 4: Las Vegas Aces 93, Phoenix Mercury 76

Friday, Oct. 8
Game 5: Phoenix Mercury 87, Las Vegas Aces 84

Second round (single-game elimination)
Sunday, Sept. 26
No. 5 Phoenix Mercury 85, No. 4 Seattle Storm 80
No. 6 Chicago Sky 89, No. 3 Minnesota Lynx 76

First round (single-game elimination)
Thursday, Sept. 23
No. 6 Chicago Sky 81, No. 7 Dallas Wings 64
No. 5 Phoenix Mercury 83, No. 8 New York Liberty 82