Scott McLaughlin continues love affair with Phillip Island

Scott McLaughlin, in a Volvo, is the first non-Commodore driver to win a V8 Supercars race in 2016. Daniel Kalisz/Getty Images

Scott McLaughlin continued his love affair with Phillip Island on Saturday, the Kiwi claiming a commanding V8 Supercars win in Race 1 of the WD-40 Phillip Island SuperSprint after winning his first pole of the season.

The New Zealander careered away for a drought-breaking success as the superior pace of his Volvo S60 came into its own after successfully negotiating the compulsory pit stop without any drama, McLaughlin becoming the sixth winner in as many races this season but the first non-Commodore driver to stand atop the podium.

For both McLaughlin and Garry Rogers Motorsport, this was a first win since the 2014 meet on Phillip Island.

"It's been so tough to get through the last two years," McLaughlin said.

"The guys gave me a great car, I'm so stoked.

"I wanted to do a burn out so bad but they wouldn't let me."

Jamie Whincup took second place but never seriously challenged McLaughlin, with Fabian Coulthard earning third with a stunning drive.

The second place put Whincup in control of the championship, 27 points ahead of Craig Lowndes.

Mark Winterbottom is third in the standings, with McLaughlin fourth.

While McLaughlin had the day's best drive, Coulthard lit up the track behind him.

The DJR Team Penske man improved from ninth on the grid to finish third, overtaking senior drivers before he was gifted a podium finish when Chaz Mostert went off into the gravel on the final lap.

Mostert bowed to the crowd after putting on a show but he will have been devastated to lose a healthy points haul so late in the race. His teammate Scott Pye was on track to join him for a top-10 finish, but he spun out spectacularly and late at the high-speed turn one to finish 26th.