James O'Connor ruled out, Noah Lolesio, Irae Simone to make Wallabies debuts

Wallabies coach Dave Rennie has been forced to make several changes to his starting 15, with James O'Connor and Matt Toomua replaced by debutants Noah Lolesio and Irae Simone for Saturday's Bledisloe Cup clash.

James O'Connor has joined Toomua on the injury list after he was ruled out through a knee injury, opening up both the fly-half and inside centre roles to 20-year-old Lolesio and 25-year-old Simone.

The pair helped steer the Brumbies to the Super Rugby AU title and are just two of four uncapped players Rennie has named in the Wallabies' 23, with Queensland Reds duo Tate McDermott and Fraser McReight named on the bench.

"It's really exciting to be able to name four more debutants in the squad this week," Rennie said.

"Noah and Irae have played a lot of footy together and we have no doubt they're ready to take the step up to Test rugby. Tate and Fraser have had big Super Rugby seasons and have impressed in training over the past month.

"It's an especially significant night for us with the chance to represent and celebrate our First Nations people by wearing the Indigenous jersey on home soil in front of our Wallabies family.

"We know New Zealand will pose another tough challenge but we've prepared well and will be ready to go on Saturday night."

Allan Alaalatoa is the only change up front, pushing Taniela Tupou on to the bench. It'll be Alaalatoa's first start in 2020 as he joins Brandon Paenga-Amosa and James Slipper - who is set to play his 99th Test. Matt Philip and Lukhan Salakaia-Loto will get another chance to impress in the second row.

The only other change to the starting side sees Dane Haylett-Petty move into the fullback position with Tom Banks dropped from the side. Speedsters Marika Koroibete and Filipo Daugunu retain their places on the wings.

Making an impressive return in Bledisloe II, Ned Hanigan has solidified his place at blindside flanker, joining Michael Hooper and Harry Wilson to round out the backrow. It'll be Wilson's first appearance for the Wallabies on home soil after he made his debut in Bledisloe I in Wellington.

Jordon Uelese, Scott Sio and Tupou will get their chances to make an impact when they called up from the bench, while Rob Simmons will get his chance to surpass Stephen Larkham to become equal 8th most capped Wallaby when he runs on for his 103rd Test. While McReight and McDermott join Hunter Paisami and Reece Hodge to round out the squad.

Wallabies line-up: Dane Haylett-Petty, Filip Daugunu, Jordan Petaia, Irae Simone, Marika Koroibete, Noah Lolesio, Nic White, Harry Wilson, Michael Hooper, Ned Hanigan, Matt Philip, Lukhan Salakaia-Loto, Allan Alaalatoa, Brandon Paenga-Amosa, James Slipper. Replacements: Jordan Uelese, Scott Sio, Taniela Tupou, Rob Simmons, Fraser McReight, Tate McDermott, Reece Hodge, Hunter Paisami.