Marika Koroibete awarded John Eales Medal

Wallabies wing Marika Koroibete has signed off an impressive 2019 season by claiming the 2019 John Eales Medal at the Rugby Australia awards in Sydney.

It's the first award for Koroibete who transitioned to the 15-man game ahead of the 2017 Super Rugby season.

With a standout tournament at the Rugby World Cup in Japan, that included three tries, the 27-year-old stormed home with 200 votes from his teammates, 50 clear of second-placed Samu Kerevi.

Koroibete was fifth on the World Cup list for clean breaks securing 12 in his four games, while he made 32 carries, registered 449metres made and beat 25 defenders.

In a big night of celebrations, former Wallabies halves pairing George Gregan and Stephen Larkham were inducted into the Wallabies Hall of Fame together. The centurions are considered one of the Wallabies best ever halves pairing, with the duo leading Australia to their second World Cup triumph in 1999. Larkham's 48m drop-goal during the 1999 World Cup semifinal remains one of his most iconic moments in the gold jersey.

Australia's men's and women's sevens teams were both celebrated after they both booked their place to next year's Olympic Games in Tokyo. While the women booked their place during last season's World Series, the men's side were forced to play for their qualification in a dramatic final win over Samoa in Suva last weekend.

Speedster Maurice Longbottom was awarded the Shawn Mackay award for men's sevens player of the year, after he finished the 2018/19 season with a team-high 34 tries to place sixth on the World Series sevens list. Charlotte Caslick received her second player of the year trophy after she amassed 20 tries, despite missing a tournament due to injury.

Wallaroos captain Grace Hamilton took out the Wallaroos player of the year after she dominated voting following her standout performances in Tests series against Japan and the Black Ferns.

Wallabies young gun Jordan Petaia was named Rugby Australia rookie of the year alongside Wallaroos youngster Alysia Lefau-Fakaosilea. Making his Wallabies debut during the Rugby World Cup, Petaia didn't disappoint with impressive performances against Uruguay, Georgia and in the quarterfinal against England. Lefau-Fakaosilea was also celebrated for her breakout year in Super W and her standout performances for the Wallaroos. Both have been earmarked as future stars.

Rugby Australia Awards 2019 Award Winners

John Eales Medal: Marika Koroibete

The Shawn MacKay Award - Men's Sevens Player of the Year: Maurice Longbottom

The Shawn MacKay Award - Women's Sevens Player of the Year: Charlotte Caslick

Australia's Choice - Wallaby of the Year: Michael Hooper

Wallaroos Player of the Year: Grace Hamilton

Buildcorp Super W Player of the Year: Tayla Stanford

Super Rugby Player of the Year: Samu Kerevi

Rugby Australia Try of the Year: Nic White

HSBC Volunteer of the Year: Ben and Selina Blyton

Roger Vanderfield TNT Referee of the Year: Nic Berry

Nick Farr-Jones Spirit of Rugby Award: Peter 'Doubles' Daley

Joe French Award: Sharron Flahive

Geoff 'Bunter' Shaw Community Coach of the Year Award: Vaasa Afa

Junior Wallabies Player of the Year: Fraser McReight

Rugby Australia Rookie of the Year: Alysia Lefau-Fakaosilea and Jordan Petaia