Wyn Jones returns as Wales face Ireland

Alun Wyn Jones will captain Wales against Ireland in Dublin on Saturday, when the Grand Slam winners' and their opposition play their final warm-up Test for the Rugby World Cup in Japan. Craig Mercer/MB Media/Getty Images

Alun Wyn Jones returns to Wales' starting line-up as captain against Ireland on Saturday, when the two teams contest their final Rugby World Cup warm-up Test.

The 33-year-old will join Jake Ball in the second row with Aaron Wainwright, Justin Tipuric and Ross Moriarty forming the back row.

Elliot Dee, Wyn Jones and Tomas Francis start at front row for the game at Dublin's Aviva Stadium, while Tomos Williams and Rhys Patchell are named at half-back.

Hadleigh Parkes and Jonathan Davies will pair up at centre, and Josh Adams, George North and Leigh Halfpenny make up the Grand Slam winners' back three.

Wales head coach Warren Gatland said: "This is our final preparation match, so it is important we get enough rugby into us, get rugby-ready ahead of our World Cup opener against Georgia, which is just over two weeks away.

"It is important we hit the ground running in Japan and we give the players enough time on the field.

"Saturday is the first time these players would have taken to the field as members of the World Cup squad, it has been a big week and it is a big opportunity for players to put their hand up and secure spots for the starting XV in Japan."

Meanwhile, Rory Best captains an Ireland team full of changes as he earns his 120th cap on his last appearance at the Aviva Stadium.

The game also marks the final home match for head coach Joe Schmidt, who will join Best in retirement after the World Cup.

Cian Healy and Tadhg Furlong start alongside Best in the front row, with James Ryan and Jean Kleyn named in the second row.

Jack Conan starts at No. 8, while CJ Stander comes into the back row at No. 6 and Josh van der Flier is named at No. 7.

Johnny Sexton makes his seasonal debut and is joined at half-back by Conor Murray. Bundee Aki starts at No. 12, with Robbie Henshaw coming in at No. 13.

Keith Earls returns on the left wing, while Jordan Larmour starts on the right and Rob Kearney plays at full-back.

Wales starting XV:

15. Leigh Halfpenny, 14. George North, 13. Jonathan Davies, 12. Hadleigh Parkes, 11. Josh Adams, 10. Rhys Patchell, 9. Tomos Williams; 1. Wyn Jones, 2. Elliot Dee, 3. Tomas Francis, 4. Jake Ball, 5. Alun Wyn Jones (C), 6. Aaron Wainwright, 7. Justin Tipuric, 8. Ross Moriarty.

Replacements: 16. Ken Owen, 17. Nicky Smith, 18. Dillon Lewis, 19. Adam Beard, 20. Josh Navidi, 21. Gareth Davies, 22. Dan Biggar, 23. Liam Williams.

Ireland starting XV:

15. Rob Kearney, 14. Jordan Larmour, 13. Robbie Henshaw, 12. Bundee Aki, 11. Keith Earls, 10. Jonathan Sexton, 9. Conor Murray; 1. Cian Healy, 2. Rory Best (C), 3. Tadhg Furlong, 4. James Ryan, 5. Jean Kleyn, 6. CJ Stander, 7. Josh van der Flier, 8. Jack Conan.

Replacements: 16. Sean Cronin, 17. Dave Kilcoyne, 18. Andrew Porter, 19. Iain Henderson, 20. Rhys Ruddock, 21. Luke McGrath, 22. Jack Carty, 23. Garry Ringrose.