Uganda squad named for Cape Verde qualifier

Sebastien Desabre of Uganda Samuel Shivambu/BackpagePix

Uganda coach Sebastien Desabre has named a 30-man squad ahead of a 2019 Africa Cup of Nations (AFCON) qualifier against Cape Verde next month.

The Cranes need only one point in Kampala on November 17 to book a second consecutive appearance at the continental finals.

Uganda started their campaign with a 1-0 win away to Cape Verde last year, before battling to a goalless home draw against Tanzania. They then responded with 3-0 and 2-0 wins against Lesotho to put them on the brink of qualification.

"This game against Cape Verde will not be an easy one," Cranes assistant coach Mathias Lule told KweséESPN.

"Many people who support football in Uganda think Cape Verde is a weak team and we can easily get a result. But if you watched them against Tanzania, they played a good game, even though they lost.

"We are going to treat that game like a cup final because the Cape Verde team will also come determined to win and get their qualification campaign back on track."

The local-based players are expected to start training on November 9, with the overseas-based stars joining them a few days before the game.

After hosting Cape Verde, Uganda face Nigeria's Super Eagles in a friendly at the Asaba Stadium on November 20.

Uganda Squad

Goalkeepers: Denis Onyango (Mamelodi Sundowns), Jamal Salim (El Meriekh), Charles Lukwago (KCCA FC), Nicholas Sebwato (Onduparaka FC)

Defenders: Isaac Isinde (Kirinya Jinja SS), Murushid Juuko (Simba SC), Timothy Awanyi (KCCA FC), Denis Iguma (Kazma FC), Nicholas Wadada (Azam FC), Godfrey Walusimbi (Kaizer Chiefs), Isaac Muleme (Haras El Hodood), Bernard Muwanga (KCCA FC), Yayo Kato Lutimba (Vipers SC), Joseph Benson Ochaya (TP Mazembe), Hassan Wasswa Mawanda (El Geish)

Midfielders: Khalid Aucho (Church Hill Brothers, India), Ibrahim Saddam Juma (KCCA FC), Tadeo Lwanga (Vipers SC), Allan Kateregga (Cape Town City), Farouk Miya (Gorica FC), Ambrose Kirya (SC Villa), Moses Waisswa (Vipers SC), Milton Karisa (MC Oujda), Allan Kyambadde (KCCA FC)

Strikers: Dan Serunkuma (Vipers SC), Vianne Sekajugo (Onduparaka FC), Emma Okwi (Simba SC), Edrisa Lubega (SV Ried), Derrick Nsibambi (Smouha FC), Patrick Kaddu (KCCA FC)