Euro 2020 playoffs: All you need to know

Euro 2020 qualifying is almost over. Find out all you need to know for the playoffs draw.

JUMP TO: Format | Fixtures | How playoffs affect finals draw | Finals draw details draw | Finals info

Which nations will take part in the Euro 2020 playoffs?

The playoffs were formed using UEFA Nations League performance, taking the best-performing nations who did not qualify automatically.

A draw was needed to decide which of Bulgaria, Israel, Romania, Hungary remained in League C to play Scotland, and which three moved up to join Iceland in League A, as eight League C nations qualified for a playoff.

League A: Iceland, Bulgaria, Romania, Hungary

League B: Bosnia and Herzegovina, Slovakia, Republic of Ireland, Northern Ireland

League C: Scotland, Norway, Serbia, Israel

League D: Georgia, Macedonia, Kosovo, Belarus

What is the format and when will games be played?

Each of the four League paths will contain four teams. Each path will have two semifinals and a final. The winners of each of the four League finals will qualify for Euro 2020.

The semifinals were played on Thursday, Oct. 8, 2020.

The finals will take place on Thursday, Nov. 12, 2020.

The standard kickoff time, as with the group stage, is 7.45 p.m. CET

What are the playoff fixtures?

League A
Iceland 2-1 Romania
Bulgaria 1-3 Hungary
FINAL: Hungary vs. Iceland

League B
Bosnia and Herzegovina 1-1 Northern Ireland (3-4 on pens)
Slovakia 0-0 Republic of Ireland (4-2 on pens)
FINAL: Northern Ireland vs. Slovakia

League C
Scotland 0-0 Israel (5-3 on pens)
Norway 1-2 Serbia
FINAL: Serbia vs. Scotland

League D
Georgia 1-0 Belarus
North Macedonia 2-1 Kosovo
FINAL: Georgia vs. North Macedonia

What are the Euro 2020 finals fixtures?

The fixtures were decided by the Euro 2020 finals draw.

- Euro 2020 fixtures schedule: Check out every game

When is Euro 2020 and where is it played?

The finals will be hosted across Europe for this edition of the European Championship, running June 11 to July 11, 2021.

Group A: Stadio Olimpico, Rome (Italy) and Olympic Stadium, Baku (Azerbaijan)
Group B: Krestovsky Stadium, Saint Petersburg (Russia) and Parken Stadium, Copenhagen (Denmark)
Group C: Johan Cruyff Arena, Amsterdam (Netherlands) and Arena Naționala, Bucharest (Romania)
Group D: Wembley Stadium, London (England) and Hampden Park, Glasgow (Scotland)
Group E: San Mames, Bilbao (Spain) and Aviva Stadium, Dublin (Republic of Ireland)
Group F: Allianz Arena, Munich (Germany) and Ferenc Puskas Stadium, Budapest (Hungary)

Round of 16: Wembley Stadium, London (England), Parken Stadium, Copenhagen (Denmark), Arena Naționala, Bucharest (Romania), Johan Cruyff Arena, Amsterdam (Netherlands), Aviva Stadium, Dublin (Republic of Ireland), San Mames, Bilbao (Spain), Ferenc Puskas Stadium, Budapest (Hungary), Hampden Park, Glasgow (Scotland)

Quarterfinals: Allianz Arena, Munich (Germany), Olympic Stadium, Baku (Azerbaijan), Krestovsky Stadium, Saint Petersburg (Russia), Stadio Olimpico, Rome (Italy)
Semifinals and final: Wembley Stadium, London (England)