Euro 2020 qualifying: All you need to know

Euro 2020 qualifying is almost over. Find out the groups, how many teams qualify and how the playoffs and finals map out.

JUMP TO: | Who has qualified | Playoffs | Finals draw | Fixtures | Venues

How do nations qualify for Euro 2020?

There will be 24 nations at Euro 2020. As the finals are being played across Europe, there is no host nation.

The top two teams in each group qualified automatically, meaning there were 20 places up for grabs from the 10 groups.

There are then four places via playoffs. There will be 16 participating teams, allocated based on UEFA Nations League group positions and performance available to those that have not qualified directly.

What were the qualifying groups?

GROUP A: England, Czech Republic, Bulgaria, Montenegro, Kosovo

GROUP B: Portugal, Ukraine, Serbia, Lithuania, Luxembourg

GROUP C: Netherlands, Germany, Northern Ireland, Estonia, Belarus

GROUP D: Switzerland, Denmark, Republic of Ireland, Georgia, Gibraltar

GROUP E: Croatia, Wales, Slovakia, Hungary, Azerbaijan

GROUP F: Spain, Sweden, Norway, Romania, Faroe Islands, Malta

GROUP G: Poland, Austria, Israel, Slovenia, Macedonia, Latvia

GROUP H: France, Iceland, Turkey, Albania, Moldova, Andorra

GROUP I: Belgium, Russia, Scotland, Cyprus, Kazakhstan, San Marino

GROUP J: Italy, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Finland, Greece, Armenia, Liechtenstein

Who has qualified for Euro 2020?

Austria, Belgium, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, England, Finland, France, Germany, Italy, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Russia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, Ukraine and Wales have secured their places.

- Euro 2020: Who will reach the finals?
- Euro 2020 finals draw: All you need to know

What is the format of the playoffs?

Sixteen nations will take part in the playoffs.

There will be four playoff routes, each with four nations taking part.

Each route will have two semifinals and a final. All games are one-off matches, and not two-legged.

In the semifinals, the best-ranked team from the Nations League path will be at home to face the fourth-ranked team, and the second-ranked team will host the third-best team.

The home team in each final will be drawn on Nov. 22, 2019 and will not be based on ranking.

- Euro 2020 playoffs draw: How it works

How do the Euro 2020 playoffs work?

Check out this handy video UEFA has created to explain the playoffs.

In its purest form, the winners of each of the 16 groups across the four UEFA Nations League paths (A, B, C and D) would go to the playoffs. However, six Nations League group winners qualified for Euro 2020 automatically, so who takes their place in the playoff route? It goes to the next-best-ranked team at that League level.

This is the ranked order in which nations will be granted a playoff, should they need it:

- Euro 2020: Who will reach the playoffs?
- Euro 2020 playoffs draw: How it works

League A: England, Netherlands, Portugal, Switzerland, Belgium, France, Spain, Italy, Croatia, Poland, Germany, Iceland

League B: Bosnia and Herzegovina, Ukraine, Denmark, Sweden, Russia, Austria, Wales, Czech Republic, Slovakia, Turkey, Republic of Ireland, Northern Ireland

League C: Scotland, Norway, Serbia, Finland, Bulgaria, Israel, Hungary, Romania, Greece, Albania, Montenegro, Cyprus, Estonia, Slovenia, Lithuania

League D: Georgia, Macedonia, Kosovo, Belarus, Luxembourg, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Kazakhstan, Moldova, Gibraltar, Faroe Islands, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Andorra, Malta, San Marino

So the 20 automatic qualifiers will be removed from this list, and the top four remaining teams in each path will make up the playoffs.

Which nations will take part in the Euro 2020 playoffs?

The playoffs are formed from the best-performing teams in the UEFA Nations League who did not qualify for Euro 2020 automatically.

The only nation from League A to require a playoff was Iceland, so the League A playoff was filled up with teams from League C. Only four teams in League B failed to qualify automatically.

League A: Iceland, Bulgaria, Romania, Hungary

League B: Bosnia and Herzegovina, Slovakia, Republic of Ireland, Northern Ireland

League C: Scotland, Norway, Serbia, Israel

League D: Georgia, Macedonia, Kosovo, Belarus

What are the playoff fixtures?

The best-ranked nations will face worst-ranked at home in the semifinals. The host in the finals was decided by a draw.

League A
Iceland vs. Romania
Bulgaria vs. Hungary
HOME TEAM IN FINAL: Bulgaria or Hungary

League B
Bosnia and Herzegovina vs. Northern Ireland
Slovakia vs. Republic of Ireland
HOME TEAM IN FINAL: Bosnia and Herzegovina or Northern Ireland

League C
Scotland vs. Israel
Norway vs. Serbia
HOME TEAM IN FINAL: Norway or Serbia

League D
Georgia vs. Belarus
North Macedonia vs. Kosovo
HOME TEAM IN FINAL: Georgia or Belarus

When are the playoffs?

The playoffs will be played on March 26 and 31 in 2020, less than three months before the finals begin.

The draw will be held on Friday, Nov. 22, starting at 12 p.m. CET (6 a.m. ET, 11 a.m. GMT).

- Euro 2020 playoffs: All you need to know

What are the Euro 2020 finals fixtures?

The fixtures were decided by the Euro 2020 finals draw.

- Euro 2020 fixtures schedule: Check out every game

Where is Euro 2020 being played?

The finals will be hosted across Europe for this edition of the European Championship, running June 12 to July 12.

Group A: Stadio Olimpico, Rome (Italy) and Olympic Stadium, Baku (Azerbaijan)
Group B: Krestovsky Stadium, Saint Petersburg (Russia) and Parken Stadium, Copenhagen (Denmark)
Group C: Johan Cruyff Arena, Amsterdam (Netherlands) and Arena Naționala, Bucharest (Romania)
Group D: Wembley Stadium, London (England) and Hampden Park, Glasgow (Scotland)
Group E: San Mames, Bilbao (Spain) and Aviva Stadium, Dublin (Republic of Ireland)
Group F: Allianz Arena, Munich (Germany) and Ferenc Puskas Stadium, Budapest (Hungary)

Round of 16: Wembley Stadium, London (England), Parken Stadium, Copenhagen (Denmark), Arena Naționala, Bucharest (Romania), Johan Cruyff Arena, Amsterdam (Netherlands), Aviva Stadium, Dublin (Republic of Ireland), San Mames, Bilbao (Spain), Ferenc Puskas Stadium, Budapest (Hungary), Hampden Park, Glasgow (Scotland)

Quarterfinals: Allianz Arena, Munich (Germany), Olympic Stadium, Baku (Azerbaijan), Krestovsky Stadium, Saint Petersburg (Russia), Stadio Olimpico, Rome (Italy)
Semifinals and final: Wembley Stadium, London (England)