Vote for Australia's greatest ever footballer

No other country in the world can boast the same vast array of footballing talent as Australia.

They might not be footballers in the purest form of the word -- specifically that they all belong to the Beautiful Game -- but across Australian rules football, rugby league, rugby union and, of course, football, Australia has produced some of the most special sporting talents on the planet.

From the high-flying marks and 60-metre drop punts in the AFL, to the bone-jarring tackles and brilliant attacking plays of rugby league and rugby union, and the wizardry, touch and control of the round-ball game, there is something for every Australian football fan.

But who exactly can lay claim to be the greatest of them all?

Comparing individuals across different sports is no easy task, but our team of writers at have done their best to name the top 16 across each of their preferred codes.

Now it's your turn! We want you to select the best footballer in each code in our bracket, from which the winners will then represent their sport in the final four to find Australia's greatest footballer. Each week, we will update the match ups and bring you an insight in to the most exciting match ups of the round.

Log into footytips now and cast your vote today.

Our writers have previewed some of the most intriguing Round One matchups for you below.


Tony Lockett [5] vs. Jason Dunstall [12]

The Locket vs. Dunstall debate is one that has been argued for decades - through their playing careers and long after they hung up their boots.

Do you plump for Locket, the goal square behemoth who won a Brownlow Medal and holds the all-time record of 1360 goals? Or will Dunstall get your vote, kicker of 1254 majors and winner of four flags with Hawthorn?

Two contrasting players who both dominated the goalkicking charts of the late 80s to late 90s - it's a line-ball call.

Wayne Carey [2] vs. Dustin Martin [15]

Carey rightly features in 'Greatest of All Time' debates, with two flags and seven All-Australian berths, but Martin's rise to prominence has many predicting he can state a claim to be the GOAT by the end of his career. With two Norm Smith Medals in two premierships for Richmond - not to mention a Brownlow Medal - there's no doubt he's stating a claim to be the best of this current generation.

Could recency bias, plus the power of the Tiger Army, get Dusty over the line in a huge opening round upset?

Cast your vote now!


Mark Schwarzer [7] vs Lucas Neill [10]

Without a doubt the most enticing football matchup in the first round is Mark Schwarzer drawn against Lucas Neill.

Both are members of Australia's Golden Generation that did so well at the 2006 World Cup, and both had long, successful careers in the Premier League -- it's hard to split their "greatness."

Will Neill's acrimonious exit from the international scene count against him? Or will the goalkeeper's curse that always strikes in these sort of polls once again do a custodian out of some decent recognition?

Johnny Warren [5] vs. Mark Bosnich [12]

The battle of the pundits!

At first glance, "Captain Socceroo" Johnny Warren will naturally be the favourite in this matchup - he captained Australia in it's very first World Cup appearance in 1974 and was a staunch advocate and campaigner for the local game ever since. He is perhaps held in the highest esteem of any former national player.

But it would be naïve to discount "Bozza" here. On talent alone, Mark Bosnich has a claim to be one of the greatest players this nation has ever produced. Was that potential fully realized? Perhaps not.

But here's where everyone's personal definition of "greatness" plays a role. How much does a player's longevity count towards their greatness? And how about their work in the industry post-career? Does a better club career count for more or less? So many things to weigh-up!

Cast your vote now!


Johnathon Thurston [4] vs. Mal Meninga [13]

Two of Queensland's finest clash in this first round thriller.

Thurston starred at five-eighth for his state and country, while donning the No.7 at club level where he was equally as devastating. Meninga set the gold standard for centres in the 80s and 90s.

He was almost unstoppable once he wound up and his bullocking runs on the edge of the ruck saw more teams send back-rowers to the fringes to help out the smaller men in defence. Either of these two champions would be a fitting winner of this clash.

Andrew Johns [2] vs. Clive Churchill [15]

It's a tough first-round match-up that sees the eighth immortal up against one of the first to receive that honour.

Anyone who saw Clive Churchill play would tell you he was unmatched as a fullback, with an all-round game that included elusiveness, pure speed, safe hands and solid defence. He has a tough task here beating the more recent memories of a halfback who many have listed as the greatest to ever play the game.

Johns had the kicking, passing and running game to destroy any defence and his own tackling technique was rock solid.

Cast your vote now!

Rugby Union

John Eales [8] vs. George Gregan [9]

This is surely the tightest match-up in Round 1. Twenty years on from his Beldisloe Cup heroics, John Eales is remembered as the best Wallabies captain of all time and even has a statue erected outside Suncorp Stadium in Brisbane. Nicknamed 'Nobody' because nobody's perfect, Eales has two World Cup triumphs to his name, alongside six Bledisloe Cup wins and was inducted into the Australian Sports Hall of Fame in 2003. Despite his many triumphs, perhaps his most memorable moment was his overtime penalty conversion in Game 3 of the 2000 Bledisloe Cup that saw the Wallabies retain the Bledisloe Cup.

The Wallabies most ever capped player, George Gregan remains the Wallabies best ever scrumhalf. Cheeky and niggly with one of the most accurate passes in the game, Gregan was one part of one of the best halves combinations in World Rugby. He was instrumental in the Wallabies 1999 World Cup triumph as well as their many Bledisloe Cup victories through the 1990s and early 2000s. Perhaps one of his most memorable moments for the Wallabies was his famous try-saving tackle on All Blacks Jeff Wilson that directly led to Australia winning the Bledisloe Cup in 1994. It's a moment that is remembered as one of the greatest in the Wallabies-All Blacks rivalry. Of course, his 2003 World Cup sledge "four more years, boys, four more years" won't soon be forgotten over the ditch either.

It's almost cruel to match-up two of the Wallabies best in Round 1 and perhaps if Gregan had been matched with anyone else he would have progressed through to the later rounds, but up against 'Nobody' it's hard to see even Gregan prevailing to Round 2.

David Campese [3] vs. Nick Farr-Jones [14]

Remembered for his incredible goose step, Campo was one of the Wallabies most electric and exciting players, constantly threatening opposition defence with sparkling play. Capped 101 times, Campo helped the Wallabies to their first ever World Cup triumph in 1991 and was part of the Wallabies side to claim the first ever Grand Slam over the home nations, England, Wales, Ireland and Scotland.

Captaining the Wallabies to their first ever World Cup victory in 1991, Nick Farr-Jones will always be remembered for the moment he received the cup from Queen Elizabeth II after defeating England at their home in Twickeham. Named Wallabies captain at just 25, he was known as part of Australia's "holy trinity" alongside Campo and Michael Lynagh. Cool headed and tough, Farr-Jones led one of the Wallabies best ever packs and will be remembered as one of Australia's best captains.

Two of Australia's best players, this match-up will surely come down to the wire. Campo's amazing footwork against Farr-Jones' knowledge of the game.

Cast your vote now!