AFL welcomes back Thursday night lights, fixtures confirmed for rounds 13-15

AFL premiership contenders Port Adelaide and Geelong will clash in the first of three Thursday night fixtures when the marquee timeslot returns to the competition's schedule in June.

The AFL on Thursday confirmed its fixture for rounds 13-15, with the Power-Cats encounter at Adelaide Oval one of the highlights.

West Coast host Richmond on a Thursday night in round 14, then Brisbane meet Geelong in round 15.

Most clubs playing on Thursday nights will be coming off a bye, however, the Lions (five days) and Cats (six) will do battle after short breaks.

"Thursday night primetime footy returns with three huge match ups across three different states," AFL broadcast and scheduling boss Marcus King said.

"With the support of the AFLPA and clubs, we can utilise up to one five-day break per club subject to certain parameters and this has helped in achieving and optimising this next block of Thursday matches."

Round 13 also features the return of the 'Big Freeze' feature match between Melbourne and Collingwood.

It will be played at the MCG on the Queen's Birthday Monday for the first time since 2019, having been wiped off the calendar last year because of the COVID-19 pandemic.

Round 13 will also see St Kilda play a home game against Adelaide in Cairns, which hosted four matches during the coronavirus-affected 2020 season.

"It is great for the fans of St Kilda and the Crows, as well as fans in Queensland, to attend and host a Saturday night fixture at Cazalys Stadium," King said.

Rounds 13 and 14 will feature standalone Sunday clashes and conclude a three-round bye period, which sees six clubs each week have a break.

Regular nine-match rounds resume in round 15, with the schedule from round 16 onwards still to be determined.