W2W4 in Pyeongchang: USA-China curling match highlights big day

play
Being an Olympian is an 'honor' (0:23)

Olympic gold medalist snowboarder Kelly Clark, Olympic bronze medalist luger Erin Hamlin and Olympic silver medalist hockey player Breanna Decker describe what it's like to be an Olympian. (0:23)

The first full day of competition at the Pyeongchang Olympics begins Saturday (Friday night in the U.S.). Five medals will be awarded. Here are some notable events to watch:

Mixed curling: Friday, 7:05 p.m. ET (Saturday, 9:05 a.m. KST): Though mixed curling has been a part of the World Championships since 2008, it is debuting for the first time at the Olympics. The U.S. started strongly by beating the Russian athletes, but then fell to Canada, Switzerland and Korea, giving the Americans a 1-3 record. Team USA is in a must-win situation when it takes on China on Friday evening (ET). Meanwhile, Canada, which fell to Norway in its opener, looks like it's on track to make the final rounds after beating the U.S., China and Finland. Canada next plays Switzerland. The top four teams will qualify for the medal round.

Men's snowboarding (Slopestyle): Friday, 8 p.m. ET (Saturday 10 a.m. KST): The qualifying rounds for men's snowboarding begin with Canada's Max Parrot and Mark McMorris (Sochi Olympics bronze medalist), both of whom are looking to ease into the final rounds of the competition.

Women's cross country (15 km skiathlon): Saturday, 2:15 a.m. ET (4:15 p.m. KST): This event will be the first medal competition of this Olympics. Norway's Marit Bjoergen will be looking for a second straight gold medal after prevailing in Sochi four years ago.

Women's speed skating (3000m): Saturday, 6 a.m. ET (8 p.m. KST): Look out for the Netherlands' Ireen Wust, who will be skating for her second consecutive gold medal. This is her fourth Winter Olympics and she has won eight Olympic medals in all. Interesting fact: The winners of the past four gold medals in this event are all competing. Wust (gold in 2006 and 2014), Czech Republic's Martina Sablikova (2010) and Germany's Claudia Pechstein (2002).

Women's Biathlon (7.5km sprint): Saturday, 6:15 a.m. ET (8:15 p.m. KST): On Saturday, the women's 7.5 km sprint is going to decide the medalists. Keep an eye out for Slovakia's Anastasiya Kuzmina. When she walks out for her competition Saturday, she will look to win her third consecutive Olympic gold medal. She won in Vancouver and Sochi. Dorothea Wierer, who won bronze in Sochi, is also a contender.

Men's short-track speed skating (1500m finals): Saturday, 7:28 a.m. ET (9:28 p.m. KST): The South Korean fans will be pumped for this event, which is by far their top winter Olympic sport. South Korea has won 42 of its 53 Winter Olympic medals in short track. Hwang Dae-Heon is the heavy favorite to take home the gold medal.

Men's ski jumping (Normal hill final round): Saturday, 8:30 a.m. ET (10:30 p.m. KST): There was a surprise in the qualifying rounds Thursday as Germany's Andreas Wellinger beat defending Olympic champion Kamil Stoch. It's going to be a close fight between these two for the Olympic gold Saturday. If Wellinger pulls off the upset, this will be his first individual Olympic medal.