All-Australian NBL team to battle China in three-game series

Mitch McCarron Paul Kane/Getty Images

Australian basketball will continue its push into China with an All-Australian NBL team set to play the Chinese national team next month.

The NBL representative team will play a three-game series in one of the world's largest markets starting in Beijing on July 5. The series will then move to Guangdong on July 7 and Jilin on July 9, with all three games broadcast live into Australia on Fox Sports.

NBL boss Jeremy Loeliger was keen to follow up on the success of a similar tour last year which was enjoyed by a huge Chinese television audience.

"Last year's series was a great success and we were warmly welcomed by the Chinese people who are passionate about basketball," Loeliger said.

"The huge TV audience on its national free to air sports channel CCTV5 was fantastic exposure for the NBL which is growing in popularity in China. We are delighted that Australian fans will also be able to watch the games live on Fox Sports."

Melbourne United recently toured China and played two games against the Jiangsu Dragons and Yancheng City.

The All-Australian NBL squad for the tour is:
Mitch McCarron Cairns Taipans
Lucas Walker Perth Wildcats
Jesse Wagstaff Perth Wildcats
Mitch Norton Illawarra Hawks
Nick Kay Illawarra Hawks
Todd Blanchfield Sydney Kings
Daniel Kickert Brisbane Bullets
Tom Jervis Brisbane Bullets
Jeremy Kendle Brisbane Bullets
Jerome Randle Adelaide 36ers
David Barlow Melbourne United

Head Coach: Rob Beveridge (Illawarra Hawks)
Assistant Coach: Mick Downer (Brisbane Bullets)