Andrea Iannone claims victory in Austria

Andrea Iannone MICHAL CIZEK/AFP/Getty Images

Andrea Iannone has claimed his first MotoGP victory and the first for Ducati since 2010, holding off team-mate Andrea Dovizioso.

Jorge Lorenzo has held on for third place after beating out team-mate Valentino Rossi.

Australian Jack Miller took no part in the race having been diagnosed with hairline fractures to his T6 vertebra and right wrist following a crash in warm-up.

1. Andrea Iannone ITA Ducati Team (Desmosedici GP) 39m 46.255s

2. Andrea Dovizioso ITA Ducati Team (Desmosedici GP) 39m 47.193s

3. Jorge Lorenzo ESP Movistar Yamaha MotoGP (YZR-M1) 39m 49.644s

4. Valentino Rossi ITA Movistar Yamaha MotoGP (YZR-M1) 39m 50.070s

5. Marc Marquez ESP Repsol Honda Team (RC213V) 39m 58.068s

6. Maverick Vi├▒ales ESP Team Suzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR) 40m 0.596s

7. Dani Pedrosa ESP Repsol Honda Team (RC213V) 40m 3.318s

8. Scott Redding GBR Octo Pramac Yakhnich (Desmosedici GP15) 40m 15.692s

9. Bradley Smith GBR Monster Yamaha Tech 3 (YZR-M1) 40m 16.040s

10. Pol Espargaro ESP Monster Yamaha Tech 3 (YZR-M1) 40m 23.349s

11. Danilo Petrucci ITA Octo Pramac Yakhnich (Desmosedici GP15) 40m 26.020s

12. Michele Pirro ITA Ducati Team (Desmosedici GP) 40m 26.021s

13. Loris Baz FRA Avintia Racing (Desmosedici GP14.2) 40m 30.539s

14. Tito Rabat ESP Estrella Galicia 0,0 Marc VDS (RC213V)* 40m 31.259s

15. Cal Crutchlow GBR LCR Honda (RC213V) 40m 49.501s

16. Alvaro Bautista ESP Factory Aprilia Gresini (RS-GP) 40m 58.703s

17. Yonny Hernandez COL Aspar MotoGP Team (Desmosedici GP14.2) 41m 0.772s

18. Eugene Laverty IRL Aspar MotoGP Team (Desmosedici GP14.2) 41m 22.765s

19. Stefan Bradl GER Factory Aprilia Gresini (RS-GP) 40m 53.077s