Philadelphia Eagles' schedule loaded with top NFC contenders

Doug Pederson guided the Eagles to a Super Bowl win in February. AP Photo/Eric Gay

The NFL has released its 2018 regular-season schedule. Here's a look at what's in store for the Philadelphia Eagles.

Breakdown: This schedule has some teeth, for sure. The Eagles will play seven clubs who made the playoffs in 2017, including the Atlanta Falcons (Week 1) and Minnesota Vikings (Week 5), the two teams they beat to reach Super Bowl LII. Quarterback Carson Wentz, recovering from an ACL and LCL injury, intends to be on the field for that Thursday night opener against the Falcons. That would add even more juice to a night where they'll raise the championship banner at Lincoln Financial Field. It's the Eagles' turn to go across the pond. They'll play the Jacksonville Jaguars in London on Oct. 28, followed by a well-timed Week 9 bye.

Coming for the crown: Two NFC contenders in particular, the Vikings and Los Angeles Rams, loaded up on talent this offseason in hopes of pushing Philly off the mountaintop. As fate would have it, the Eagles play both teams during the regular season. QB Kirk Cousins gave them fits during his time with the Washington Redskins; that's something to watch now that he's leading a stacked Vikings team. And the Rams added ... well, who didn't they add? Wentz-Goff, Part II will be full of fireworks as Wentz returns to Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum, where his 2017 season ended. The game against the Rams will be one of five the Eagles play in prime time.

Familiar faces along the way: The Eagles face two of their former coaches in Frank Reich and John DeFilippo, who left for promotions with the Indianapolis Colts and Vikings, respectively. Doug Pederson found offensive success in part because of his willingness to be aggressive, particularly on fourth down. Look for Reich and DeFilippo to be among the coaches who take a page from Pederson's book this season. Defensive end Vinny Curry and DT Beau Allen await them in Tampa for their Week 2 matchup at the Bucs, and they'll welcome in wide receiver Torrey Smith and the Carolina Panthers in Week 7.

Strength of schedule: T-19th, .492

Eagles' Regular-Season Schedule (All times Eastern)

  • Week 1: Thursday, Sept. 6, Atlanta, 8:20 p.m.

  • Week 2: Sunday, Sept. 16, at Tampa Bay, 1 p.m.

  • Week 3: Sunday, Sept. 23, Indianapolis, 1 p.m.

  • Week 4: Sunday, Sept. 30, at Tennessee, 1 p.m.

  • Week 5: Sunday, Oct. 7, Minnesota, 4:25 p.m.

  • Week 6: Thursday, Oct. 11, at N.Y. Giants, 8:20 p.m.

  • Week 7: Sunday, Oct. 21, Carolina, 1 p.m.

  • Week 8: Sunday, Oct. 28, at Jacksonville, 9:30 a.m.

  • Week 9: BYE

  • Week 10: Sunday, Nov. 11, Dallas, 8:20 p.m.

  • Week 11: Sunday, Nov. 18, at New Orleans, 1 p.m.

  • Week 12: Sunday, Nov. 25, N.Y. Giants, 1 p.m.

  • Week 13: Monday, Dec. 3, Washington, 8:15 p.m.

  • Week 14: Sunday, Dec. 9, at Dallas, 4:25 p.m.

  • Week 15: Sunday, Dec. 16, at L.A. Rams, 8:20 p.m.

  • Week 16: Sunday, Dec. 23, Houston, 1 p.m.

  • Week 17: Sunday, Dec. 30, at Washington, 1 p.m.