Dane Rampe's post climb a bizarre end to Swans' AFL win

A moment of after-the-siren madness from Sydney co-captain Dane Rampe, who jumped onto an SCG goal post and started climbing it, had the potential to gift Essendon an AFL victory.

Rampe's brain fade came as Bombers midfielder David Myers attempted to slot a match-winning goal from beyond the 50m arc on Friday night.

Myers' shot fell well short and the Swans prevailed by five points but Rampe's bizarre acrobatics put him at risk of conceding a free kick in front of goal, which would have ensured the visitors claimed the four premiership points.

AFL laws stipulate that players must not intentionally shake a goal or behind post.

Jake Stringer and Cale Hooker were among the Bombers to rush over to controlling umpire Andre Gianfagna following Myers' failed shot.

Gianfagna, who saw the chaos unfold and had ordered Rampe "down, down!", dismissed their complaints.

The Seven Network suggested that umpires boss Hayden Kennedy was content with proceedings but admitted a different umpire may have penalised Rampe.

"It would've been disappointing to have the game decided by that, but climbing it does shake it though," Seven pundit and 2007 Brownlow medallist Bartel said.

"It's the right result.

"I noticed it live. Who is that flying off the back fence like Spider-Man? He got a long way up. That's a high climb.

"I guess we're lucky it didn't get close."

Essendon coach John Worsfold, speaking before Seven dug up footage of Rampe's rollick, suggested Myers was a "one per cent" chance of kicking the goal.

"He was a long way out and it was pretty blustery out there, so it was going to be a miracle kick," Worsfold said in the post-match press conference.

It wasn't the first time on Friday night that Rampe found himself in hot water with the whistle-blowers.

Rampe, told to play on in the second quarter after the umpire deemed he stepped off the mark, was caught holding the ball by Stringer.

"I can't hear that ... you talk like a little girl," Rampe fired back at the official.

Stringer converted the resultant set shot.